V-model – Software Testing

Watch This Video

Although the similarities with the sequential method as in waterfall, the V-model includes a number of different test levels, each correspond to a development stage. This allows testing activities to be fully integrated with other tasks in the project life cycle.

Mini cycles show the purpose of each test level, and show the importance of catching defects early.

The V-model also shows how static testing can be carried out during the development stages, before the code is written. Documents are identified which can be reviewed to trap faults as early as possible.

There are many variations of V-model, with slightly different number and description of levels. The ISTQB Foundation exam syllabus refers to a model with 4 test levels:

– Component testing
– Integration testing
– System testing
– Acceptance testing

Then goes on to describe two different integration test levels, so in this demonstration, I’ll describe a V-model with 5 levels of testing instead:

– Component testing
– Component integration testing
– System testing
– System integration testing
– Acceptance testing

User Review
0 (0 votes)

Rogerio da Silva

Business & Test Analyst | Website Consulting | Email Consulting | Microsoft Dynamics 365 CRM QA | Agile | Manual | Integration & Automation | DevOps | API | Cloud | AI | IoT | CRM | Looking for Scalable Services? InShore, OffShore or Hybrid
 Interested? Ask me how we can help. Grab my Book here.

%d bloggers like this: